James Madison Presidential Dollar

The James Madison Presidential Dollar marks the fourth in the series. The coins were first released into circulation on November 15, 2007. Our fourth president served two terms in office from 1809 to 1817.

Some interesting facts about him include being the shortest president at 5'4". He also graduated Princeton University in only two years and at the young age of 29 he was the youngest member of the Continental Congress.

The obverse of this golden dollar shows a portrait of Madison with his name inscribed above, and "4th
PRESIDENT 1809-1817" written below.

The reverse of the coin is the same on all issues. It bears a portrait of the Statue of Liberty, and includes the inscriptions “UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,” and “$1” for the denomination.

The edge of the coin has the date and mintmark along with the mottoes “IN GOD WE TRUST” and “E PLURIBUS UNUM.”

Born: March 16, 1751
Birthplace: Port Conway, Virginia
Political Party: Democratic-Republican
Term of Office: March 4, 1809 thru March 3, 1817
Vice Presidents: George Clinton (1809-1813), Elbrige Gerry (1813-1817)
First Lady: Dolley Madison
Nickname: Father of the Constitution
Died: June 28, 1836

James Madison Presidential Dollar to Presidential Dollars
Back to Coin Collecting Homepage

Share this page:

What’s this?

Enjoy this page? Please pay it forward. Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.