James Monroe Presidential Dollar

The James Monroe Presidential Dollar marks the fifth in the series. The coins were first released into circulation on February 14, 2008. Monroe served two terms in office from 1817 to 1825.

Some interesting facts about him include being the only president to be injured in the American Revolution. He was also the first president to ever ride on a steam boat. Also, during his presidency nine states were admitted into the union.

The obverse of this golden dollar shows a portrait of Monroe with his name inscribed above, and "5th
PRESIDENT 1817-1825" inscribed below.

The reverse of the coin is the same on all issues. It bears a portrait of the Statue of Liberty, and includes the inscriptions “UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,” and “$1” for the denomination.

The edge of the coin has the date and mintmark along with the mottoes “IN GOD WE TRUST” and “E PLURIBUS UNUM.”

Born: April 28, 1758
Birthplace: Westmoreland County, Virginia
Political Party: Democratic-Republican
Term of Office: March 4, 1817 thru March 3, 1825
Vice President: Daniel D. Tompkins
First Lady: Elizabeth Kortright Monroe
Nickname: The Last Cocked Hat
Died: July 4, 1831

James Monroe Presidential Dollar to Presidential Dollars
Back to Coin Collecting Homepage

Share this page:

What’s this?

Enjoy this page? Please pay it forward. Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.