Hawaii State Quarters

Hawaii State Quarters are the 50th and final variety in this series ranging from 1999 to 2008. This Quarter was released into circulation on November 3, 2008. The main design of the Hawaii quarter is an image of the revered King Kamehameha with an outstretched right hand toward the island chain. Kamehameha was responsible for unifying the islands in the early 1800's. The state motto is inscribed on the coin and reads "UA MAU KE EA O KA AINA I KA PONO" and is translated to "The Life of the Land is perpetuated in Righteousness".

The obverse of the coin is identical on all coins in this series. It features a portrait of George Washington with the inscriptions "UNITED STATES OF AMERICA", "QUARTER DOLLAR", "LIBERTY" and "IN GOD WE TRUST" arranged around the portrait.

The reverse of the coin bears the inscriptions "HAWAII 1959”, "UA MAU KE EA O KA AINA I KA PONO" and "E PLURIBUS UNUM" along with the date of 2008.

State: Hawaii
Nickname: The Aloha State
Ratified on: August 21, 1959
Motto: The Life of the Land is Perpetuated in Righteousness
Capital: Honolulu
Area: 6,423 square miles
Bird: Nene (Hawaiian Goose)
Flower: Hibiscus
Tree: Kukui
Designer: Don Everhart
Launch Date: November 3, 2008
Philadelphia -
Denver - 263,600,000
San Francisco (clad proof) - 2,047,284
San Francisco (silver proof) - 1,020,768

Hawaii Quarters to State Quarters
Back to Coin Collecting Homepage

Share this page:

What’s this?

Enjoy this page? Please pay it forward. Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.