Oklahoma State Quarters

Oklahoma State Quarters are the 46th variety in a series of fifty design changes over a ten year period from 1999 to 2008. This Quarter was released into circulation on January 28, 2008. The Oklahoma quarter was the first release in 2008. The coin features Oklahoma's state bird the scissor-tailed flycatcher as its central element. Also shown on the coin is the state wildflower, called the Indian blanket. Out of over 1,000 design concepts the Governor chose this motif due to popular vote of the citizens.

The obverse of the coin is identical on all coins in this series. It features a portrait of George Washington with the inscriptions "UNITED STATES OF AMERICA", "QUARTER DOLLAR", "LIBERTY" and "IN GOD WE TRUST" arranged around the portrait.

The reverse of the coin bears the inscriptions "OKLAHOMA 1907”, and "E PLURIBUS UNUM" along with the date of 2008.

State: Oklahoma
Nickname: The Sooner State
Ratified on: November 16, 1907
Motto: Labor Conquers All Things
Capital: Oklahoma City
Area: 68,679 square miles
Bird: Scissor tailed Flycatcher
Flower: Mistletoe
Tree: Redbud
Designer: Susan Gamble
Launch Date: January 28, 2008
Philadelphia -
Denver - 194,600,000
San Francisco (clad proof) - 2,047,284
San Francisco (silver proof) - 1,020,768

Oklahoma Quarters to State Quarters
Back to Coin Collecting Homepage

Share this page:

What’s this?

Enjoy this page? Please pay it forward. Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.