South Dakota State Quarters

South Dakota State Quarters are the 40th variety in a series of fifty design changes over a ten year period from 1999 to 2008. This Quarter was released into circulation on November 6, 2006. The South Dakota Quarter was the fifth and final coin issued in 2006. The reverse features a portrait of Mount Rushmore with the likenesses of George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Abraham Lincoln and Theodore Roosevelt. The coin also shows a Ring-necked pheasant and is surrounded by wheat ears.

The obverse of the coin is identical on all coins in this series. It features a portrait of George Washington with the inscriptions "UNITED STATES OF AMERICA", "QUARTER DOLLAR", "LIBERTY" and "IN GOD WE TRUST" arranged around the portrait.

The reverse of the coin bears the inscriptions "SOUTH DAKOTA 1889”, and "E PLURIBUS UNUM" along with the date of 2006.

State: South Dakota
Nickname: The Mount Rushmore State
Ratified on: November 2, 1889
Motto: Under God the People Rule
Capital: Pierre
Area: 75,898 square miles
Bird: Ring-necked Pheasant
Flower: Pasque Flower
Tree: Black Hills Spruce
Designer: John Mercanti
Launch Date: November 6, 2006
Philadelphia -
Denver - 265,800,000
San Francisco (clad proof) - 2,882,428
San Francisco (silver proof) - 1,585,008

South Dakota Quarters to State Quarters
Back to Coin Collecting Homepage

Share this page:

What’s this?

Enjoy this page? Please pay it forward. Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.