Tennessee State Quarters

Tennessee State Quarters are the 16th variety in a series of fifty design changes over a ten year period from 1999 to 2008. This Quarter was released into circulation on January 2, 2002. The reverse has three stars representing the three different regions in the state. The musical instruments symbolize the distinct music of that region. First, the guitar is for central Tennessee, the home of the state capital Nashville, as well as the capital of country music. Next, the fiddle represents Appalachian music of east Tennessee, and then the trumpet is for the blues that is prevalent in west Tennessee.

The obverse of the coin is identical on all coins in this series. It features a portrait of George Washington with the inscriptions "UNITED STATES OF AMERICA", "QUARTER DOLLAR", "LIBERTY" and "IN GOD WE TRUST" arranged around the portrait.

The reverse of the coin bears the inscriptions "TENNESSEE 1796", "MUSICAL HERITAGE", and "E PLURIBUS UNUM" along with the date of 2002.

State: Tennessee
Nickname: The Volunteer State
Ratified on: June 1, 1796
Motto: Agriculture and Commerce
Capital: Nashville
Area: 42,144 square miles
Bird: Mockingbird
Flower: Iris
Tree: Tulip Poplar
Designer: Shawn Stookey
Launch Date: January 2, 2002
Philadelphia -
Denver - 286,468,000
San Francisco (clad proof) - 3,084,245
San Francisco (silver proof) - 892,229

Tennessee Quarters to State Quarters
Back to Coin Collecting Homepage

Share this page:

What’s this?

Enjoy this page? Please pay it forward. Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.