Thomas Jefferson Presidential Dollar

The Thomas Jefferson Presidential Dollar marks the third in the series. The coins were first released in circulation on August 16, 2007. Our third president served two terms in office from 1801 to 1809.

Some interesting facts surrounding him include being the first president to actually shake hands with people instead of bowing to them. He was also a paleontologist (someone who studies fossils) as well as a violinist.

The obverse of this golden dollar shows a portrait of him with his name inscribed above, and "3rd PRESIDENT 1801-1809" written below.

The back of the coin is the same on all issues. It bears a portrait of the Statue of Liberty, and includes the inscriptions “UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,” and “$1” for the denomination.

The edge of the coin has the date and mintmark along with the mottoes “IN GOD WE TRUST” and “E PLURIBUS UNUM.”

Born: April 13, 1743
Birthplace: Shadwell Virginia
Political Party: Democratic-Republican
Term of Office: March 4, 1801 thru March 3, 1809
Vice Presidents: Aaron Burr (1801-1805), George Clinton (1805-1809)
First Lady: Martha "Patsy" Randolph, his daughter
Nickname: Father of the Declaration of Independence
Died: July 4, 1826

Thomas Jefferson Presidential Dollar to Presidential Dollars
Back to Coin Collecting Homepage

Share this page:

What’s this?

Enjoy this page? Please pay it forward. Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.